5 minutes read

Minimum Wage in South Carolina in 2023

Last Updated on:

05 January 2023
Minimum Wage in South Carolina

As an employee, you need to make sure that you will be paid at least the legal minimum wage before accepting a job. Likewise, an employer must make sure that they are compensating every worker properly in accordance with the law. 

The minimum wage is the least amount of money an employer has to pay an employee for work done across a certain period of time. 

Without minimum wage laws, some employers may end up exploiting vulnerable workers. Hence, there are minimum wage laws at both the federal and state level. Employers must comply with these laws. 

The minimum wage laws in each state vary slightly or sometimes even drastically, so you need to know about the regulations that apply in your state. This article will give you all the details about the minimum wage in South Carolina with some interesting facts.  

What is the Minimum Wage in South Carolina? 

According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the minimum wage in South Carolina in 2023 is $7.25 per hour at the moment. It’s important to know that the South Carolina Department of Labor has no specific law for minimum wage rates.  

From the very beginning, the authorities have kept the state’s minimum wage rate on par with the federal minimum wage. There has been no change in South Carolina’s minimum wage policy since then. 

Even though the minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour, there are some exceptions in this rule for specific cases. For instance, employers can pay lower than the minimum wage to specific employees like student workers, tipped employees, and disabled workers.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) also compels every employer in South Carolina to show a visible poster of South Carolina’s minimum wage. Thus, all workers will be aware of the federal law minimum wage rate. If any company fails to display the South Carolina labor law poster, that company can be subjected to major fines.

1. South Carolina’s Weekly Minimum Wage 

In South Carolina, you’ll earn at least $290.00 for working a full 40 hours throughout the week. 

2. South Carolina’s Overtime Minimum Wage

In South Carolina, if a worker works for 40 hours within a week, he or she will be eligible for the overtime minimum wage. Similar to the minimum wage rate, the overtime minimum wage of South Carolina is the same as federal law. 

All workers working for over 40 hours per week will be paid 1.5 times the minimum hourly wage in South Carolina. So for every overtime hour, employees will get at least $10.88. But no employee can be allowed to get paid overtime minimum wage without completing the 40 hours workweek. 

3. South Carolina’s Tip Minimum Wage

Tip minimum wages only apply to employees who get tips during their work or services at hotels and bars. Usually, the tip minimum wage is more than the minimum wage rates because of the inclusion of tips. 

South Carolina hasn’t passed any laws on minimum wage for tipped workers, so they follow FLSA when it comes to the minimum wage for tipped workers. It is currently set at $2.13 per hour. But employers must ensure that the tips the employees get plus their wage must equal $7.25; if not, the employer must recompense the employees. 

4. South Carolina’s Minimum Wage for Student Workers

Both high school and college students fall under the provision of student minimum wage in South Carolina. Federal law states that part-time students must be paid 85% of the minimum wage rate, which is $7.25 per hour. So a student worker has to be paid at least $6.16 per hour. 

5. South Carolina’s Under-20 Wage

New employees who are under the age of 20 can be paid a training wage which is $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment. After the training period, these employees should get paid based on the federal minimum wage rate.  

How is South Carolina’s Minimum Wage Different from the Federal Minimum Wage? 

As mentioned before, South Carolina hasn’t made any state-specific rule on the minimum wage rate. Therefore, the federal minimum wage applies in the state. 

In other words, there is no difference between the minimum wage in South Carolina and the federal minimum wage. 

Who Qualifies for Minimum Wage? 

According to The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), every individual who is considered an “employee” will be eligible for minimum wage in South Carolina. But there are some exceptions where certain workers will not be considered employees. 

As a result, minimum wage rates, as well as overtime minimum wage rates, will not be applicable to these workers. Federal law will allow employers to have full freedom while negotiating salary with these specific workers: 

  • Taxi drivers
  • Seasonal workers
  • Railroad employees
  • Farm workers
  • Theater workers
  • Executives and professionals with a weekly salary of at least $684.00

Historical Change of Minimum Wage in South Carolina 

As you can see from the historical data of South Carolina’s minimum wage presented in the table below, there hasn’t been any change in the wage rate in 12 years. 

The most significant increase in the minimum wage rate happened in 2007, 2008, and 2009. The latest adjustment was made in 2008 when the minimum wage rate was increased by $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25. 

Here you can see the historical data on minimum wage in South Carolina since 2002.

Effective Date

Minimum Wage Per Hour

January 1, 2023

$7.25

January 1, 2022

$7.25

January 1, 2021

$7.25

January 1, 2020

$7.25

January 1, 2019

$7.25

January 1, 2018

$7.25

January 1, 2017

$7.25

January 1, 2016

$7.25

January 1, 2015

$7.25

January 1, 2014

$7.25

January 1, 2013

$7.25

January 1, 2012

$7.25

January 1, 2011

$7.25

January 1, 2010

$7.25

January 1, 2009

$7.25

January 1, 2008

$6.55

January 1, 2007

$6.15

January 1, 2006

$5.15

January 1, 2005

$5.15

January 1, 2004

$5.15

January 1, 2003

$5.15

January 1, 2002

$5.15

FAQ

1. Is it mandatory for every company to pay a Minimum Wage to its workers?

Yes, both large and small business companies must pay employees at least the minimum wage in South Carolina under FLSA. That means every company has to pay their workers a minimum of  $7.25 per hour in South Carolina. 

2. Can a minor have Full-Time jobs in South Carolina?

No, a minor can’t work 40 hours per week in South Carolina. Individuals below 16 can’t be allowed to work more than 3 hours on school days. But a minor can also work 8 hours a day but only on non-school days. So, a minor can’t work more than 18 hours a week.

3. Is Overtime mandatory for every worker in South Carolina?

No, the choice of overtime should be up to the employee. The laws of South Carolina don’t prevent or prohibit workers from working overtime. However, employees must work for at least 40 hours, or else, they won’t be eligible for overtime.


Josh Evan

Written by:

Josh Evan

Josh Evan is the professional career counselor and career development writer at When Work Works. He loves to see people from this field succeed through initiating the right thing in the right way. He never tells; he shows the way. We appointed John not because of his impressive CV. It was his counseling charisma which stood out of everything. He can implant idea, confidence and productive thoughts into mind almost effortlessly. His pen and mouth both speak for the greater good.


Related Posts:

Minimum Wage in California

Employees may not legally sell their labor for less than the minimum wage, the lowest compensation a business can p...

Minimum Wage in Ohio

The Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration enforces and administers the minimum wage laws in Ohio. According to t...

Minimum Wage in Oregon

In the United States of America, Federal law mandates a minimum wage for workers per hour. Regardless of the compan...