6 minutes read

Minimum Wage in New Hampshire in 2023

Last Updated on:

10 January 2023
Minimum Wage in New Hampshire

In the northeastern United States is a beautiful history-filled state called New Hampshire. The state is small, but its rich culture and art, with the addition of the White Mountains, cancels out the size.

Let's remember New Hampshire's economic growth, which is currently rising. Healthcare, Insurance, Trade in Retail, and Educational sectors are the economic pillars of the state. The state's GDP includes 4.9% of the insurance sector and similar ones.

However, to run a successful and growing organization in New Hampshire, you need to know the Labor and Wages Laws of the state. These laws help avoid inconvenience and provide employees with a fair minimum wage.

This article includes essential information regarding New Hampshire state’s minimum wage laws. It will also provide you with a comprehensive explanation for better understanding.

What is the Minimum Wage in New Hampshire?

According to the Minimum Wage Law, no employers or organizations in New Hampshire can hire an employee offering a rate lower than $7.25 per hour. It is true for all employees except for the job positions or occupations in the exemption category. 

New Hampshire Weekly Minimum Wage

Employees of New Hampshire can earn a minimum wage of $290 per week by working 40 hours a week.

Yearly Wage

If an employee makes a minimum wage in New Hampshire, they can earn a total of $15,080 minimum annual wage.

New Hampshire Overtime Minimum Wage

According to the New Hampshire Labor Law and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), employers in New Hampshire must pay their employees 1.5 times the regular minimum wage rate if they work more than 40 hours a week.

There is currently no limit on overtime work hours for non-exempt employees. So, if an employee works at most 40 hours a week, the employer can pay the same amount.

How is New Hampshire’s Minimum Wage Different from the Federal Minimum Wage?

New Hampshire has kept its state minimum wage the same since 2008. As the state's minimum wage complies with the Federal Minimum Wage, it stayed the same when it increased in 2008.

Moreover, if the state minimum wage becomes higher than the minimum wage, it will automatically be brought back to the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25.

Who Qualifies for Minimum Wage?

According to the Labor Laws of New Hampshire, employees must get a minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour from their employer. This condition, however, does not apply to the exempted category employees.

Exempted category employees usually are:

  • Tipped employees
  • Cab drivers
  • Farmers
  • Golf caddies
  • Outside salesperson
  • Summer camp employees
  • Newspaper delivery people
  • Domestic labor employees
  • Non-professional ski patrol

Subminimum Wage

Employees in the exempt category cannot be given the standard minimum wage, so employers provide them with a subminimum wage. The pay rate is less than the minimum wage, but the New Hampshire Department of Labor has to verify the license for each employee.

Moreover, the New Hampshire Labor Law and FLSA state that employers must display verified posters of the New Hampshire Minimum Wage rate and the State and Federal Laws out in the open. If the employer fails to display the posters or it is not visible to the employees, they can be heavily fined.

(a) Tipped Employees

According to New Hampshire Labor Law, employers cannot pay tipped employees less than 45% of the federal minimum wage. So, employers pay tipped employees a subminimum wage of $3.26 in New Hampshire.

The remaining pay from tips must meet the standard minimum wage of $7.25. The employer must ensure that the employee receives the monthly minimum pay rate after adding tips.

However, employers cannot count souvenirs, merchandise, gifts, clothing, or tickets as tips. Moreover, employees should receive more than $30 per month in customer tips.

(b) Disabled Employees

Employers in New Hampshire cannot hire a disabled employee by offering a subminimum wage less than the state minimum wage rate. New Hampshire Labor Law is stringent in this manner.

The state believes that people with disabilities should be paid equally for their work as the abled employees.

(c) Student Workers

New Hampshire state’s minimum wage law does not permit any employer or organization to offer student workers anything less than the standard minimum wage. Even if the employer wants to pay a subminimum wage, they have to provide proof that the student worker is a learner.

(d) Student Learners

According to the New Hampshire Minimum Wage Law, student learners can receive a subminimum pay instead of the standard minimum wage if an employer wants.

Although an employer needs to file an application and get a legal license from the New Hampshire Department of Labor to execute this subminimum pay.

An employer must ensure the employee is currently a high school or post-secondary school student working to earn skills before applying for the license.

After applying, the Department of Labor will only authorize the license if the student learner meets specific criteria. Here are the requirements to get a subminimum wage license for student learners:

  • The school of the employee and employer must have no relationship.
  • The school should give the student learner safety training.
  • The school must not violate any rules and regulations of the State Labor Laws.
  • The student learner should not replace any regular workers.

After the Department of Labor authorizes a license, they will specify the subminimum wage rate for the employee on it.

However, as there are no restrictions on the minimum wage decided by the Department of Labor, they can easily permit the employer to pay nothing to the student learner.

(e) Learners and Apprentices

Employers must pay learners or apprentices the standard minimum wage of $7.25 as stated in the State’s Minimum Wage Laws.

(f) Trainees

If a trainee or an employee with less than six months of experience joins a new organization, the employer can pay them 75% of the standard minimum wage.

But, employers must fulfill some conditions within ten days of hire. The employer has to file an application to the New Hampshire Department of Labor and wait for their approval. Before the license, the employee cannot join the workplace.

Moreover, the Department of Labor can choose to assign no minimum wages for the employee if they are considered student learners.

(g) Seasonal, Domestic, and Farm Workers

According to the New Hampshire Minimum Wage Law, seasonal, domestic, and farm employees are not eligible for the standard minimum wage. That is why employers shall pay them a subminimum wage, but nothing lower than 80% of the standard one.

Historical Change of Minimum Wage in New Hampshire

New Hampshire has kept its minimum wage the same for 14 years. The state last increased its minimum wage in 2008 to $7.25 when the Federal Minimum Wage also increased.

Although at the beginning of 2022, Senator Donna Soucy proposed raising the minimum wage to $10 in 2023 in New Hampshire. The proposal also stated that the minimum wage would increase annually by $2 to reach $15 in 2024.

But unfortunately, the New Hampshire lawmakers did not approve the proposal, and the minimum wage stayed the same.

Here is a list of the changes in minimum wages that occurred in New Hampshire from 2008 to 2023:

Effective Date

Change in Minimum Wage

January 1, 2023

$7.25

January 1, 2022

$7.25

January 1, 2021

$7.25

January 1, 2020

$7.25

January 1, 2019

$7.25

January 1, 2018

$7.25

January 1, 2017

$7.25

January 1, 2016

$7.25

January 1, 2015

$7.25

January 1, 2014

$7.25

January 1, 2013

$7.25

January 1, 2012

$7.25

January 1, 2011

$7.25

January 1, 2010

$7.25

January 1, 2009

$7.25

January 1, 2008

$6.50

FAQ

1. Will the New Hampshire Minimum Wage Rate change in the future years?

As of 2023, the state and the state lawmakers have yet to make a plan to increase the minimum wage. There is also no news regarding an increase in the future.

2. What is the Overtime Minimum Wage in New Hampshire?

The overtime minimum wage in New Hampshire state is $10.88 per hour. If employees have a different regular wage, their overtime hours will be 1.5 of their regular wage.

3. Can Amusement or Seasonal Workers get Overtime Pay?

According to the New Hampshire Labor Law, amusement park employees or seasonal employees are not eligible for overtime pay. However, if the organization or the facility remains open for seven months, the employees will get overtime pay.


Josh Evan

Written by:

Josh Evan

Josh Evan is the professional career counselor and career development writer at When Work Works. He loves to see people from this field succeed through initiating the right thing in the right way. He never tells; he shows the way. We appointed John not because of his impressive CV. It was his counseling charisma which stood out of everything. He can implant idea, confidence and productive thoughts into mind almost effortlessly. His pen and mouth both speak for the greater good.


Related Posts:

Minimum Wage in California

Employees may not legally sell their labor for less than the minimum wage, the lowest compensation a business can p...

Minimum Wage in Ohio

The Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration enforces and administers the minimum wage laws in Ohio. According to t...

Minimum Wage in Oregon

In the United States of America, Federal law mandates a minimum wage for workers per hour. Regardless of the compan...