5 minutes read

Minimum Wage in Missouri in 2023

Last Updated on:

09 January 2023
Minimum Wage in Missouri

Missouri is one of the most popular and well-established states because of its economic contribution to the United States. And employees are an essential part of this economic contribution. The state always focuses on improving employees’ well-being and financial condition. And because of that, it sets a standard minimum wage to provide employee benefits. 

The minimum wage in Missouri follows state and federal law. The law obliges employers to pay an employee a minimum wage based on the type and nature of work. Furthermore, an employee may not sell his labor without a minimum wage, which is his right to get.

You might think that workers are paid the same minimum salary everywhere in the United States. But the surprising fact is that it even varies from city to city within a state. However, this article is based on Missouri's minimum wage for all classified employees. 

There are a small number of workers who are exempt from the minimum wage, and there are many workers who earn more than the minimum wage. So by going through this article, you can get a brief idea about the minimum wage in Missouri.

What is the Minimum Wage in Missouri?

In Missouri, employees are currently paid a minimum wage of $12.00 an hour in 2023, which is higher than the federal minimum wage. State and federal law say that an employee must be paid a higher minimum wage if the employee meets certain eligibility conditions to be paid the minimum wage.

The minimum wage in Missouri is $6 an hour for tipped employees, including servers, restaurant hosts, bartenders, and hair stylists. Although tipped employees are paid less than the standard minimum wage, employers must ensure that employees earn at least $12 per hour, including tips and minimum wage.

Employees under 20 years of age are paid a minimum wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of training in any job. And high school or college students who work up to 20 hours per week at any part-time position will receive 85% of the standard minimum wage per hour.

However, employers with businesses that make less than $500,000 annual gross revenues are not required to pay their employees minimum wage.

Missouri's minimum wage depends directly on changes in the Consumer Price Index each year, which increases the minimum wage rate and inflation.

Missouri Weekly Minimum Wage

The weekly minimum wage in Missouri is $480.00 per week. Any employee will be paid this weekly minimum wage if that employee works an average of 40 hours per week.

Overtime Minimum Wage

Employees who work more than 40 hours a week will be paid the minimum wage for overtime hours.

The overtime minimum wage is $18 per hour, which is 1.5 times higher than the standard minimum wage. Also, employees are not required to work a fixed number of hours daily to be eligible for the overtime minimum wage. If his working hours exceed 40 hours a week, he will be eligible for overtime minimum wage.

How is Missouri Minimum Wage Different from the Federal Minimum Wage?

Missouri State law mandates that employers cannot pay employees under the highest minimum wage of $12 per hour for any job within the state. The federal minimum wage in the United States is $7.25 an hour. And on the other hand, the current Missouri state minimum wage is $12 an hour. But some exceptional jobs do not qualify for minimum wage under state and federal laws, including tipped employees and student workers.

The federal minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13 per hour, which is $3.87 lower than the state's tipped minimum wage of $6 per hour. There are also several types of minimum wage, i.e., the subminimum wage for certain types of employees, introduced by federal law. The state law mandates that any business owners inside the state are bound to pay employees those minimum wages according to their eligibility.

Who Qualifies for Minimum Wage in Missouri?

Under federal and state law, only specific categories of employees are exempt from receiving the minimum wage in Missouri. That includes

  • Farm or agricultural employees
  • Employees who work in such small businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000
  • Administrative Employees
  • Executives
  • Professionals such as artists, computer specialists, and scientists whose earnings are $684 per week.

Except for the employees mentioned above, all employees are eligible to work on minimum wages as salary. The qualified category of employees for minimum wage includes

  • Employees who are under 20 years of age.
  • Employees who work as a trainee.
  • High school or College students for part-time jobs
  • Tipped employees

Historical Change of Minimum Wage in Missouri

Several factors affect minimum wage changes in Missouri, including inflation and the cost of living. In this table, we show you the increased difference in minimum wage rates between a particular year and the previous year and the minimum wage rate for each year. Moreover, here you can see the minimum wage increase percentage every year. The table shows historical changes in Missouri's minimum wage from 2012 to 2023.

Effective Year

Min. Wage

Increase of Min. Wage

% Increase

2023

$12.00

$0.85

7.62%

2022

$11.15

$0.85

8.2%

2021

$10.30

$0.85

8.99%

2020

$9.45

$0.85

9.9%

2019

$8.60

$0.75

9.5%

2018

$7.85

$0.15

1.9%

2017

$7.70

$0.05

0.65%

2016

$7.65

$0

0%

2015

$7.65

$0.15

2%

2014

$7.50

$0.15

2%

2013

$7.35

$0.10

1.4%

2012

$7.25

$0

0%

FAQ

1. What is the Minimum Wage for Under 16 Employees?

Employers may pay an employee under 16 a minimum wage of $4.25 per hour as it is set as a minimum wage for all employees under 20. This wage is sometimes considered a training wage.

2. What is the Yearly Minimum Wage in Missouri?

The yearly minimum wage for an employee in Missouri is $24,960.00 yearly. An employee has to work 52 weeks in a year to earn this amount of wage.

3. What is the Livable Wage in Missouri?

In Missouri, the livable wage for single workers with 0 children is $16.29 per hour. On the other hand, for two adults working and having at least two children, the livable wage is $22.43 per hour.

4. How many hours can an employee under 16 work in Missouri?

Under the Child Labor Act, an employee under 16 can work a maximum of 3 hours during a school day. Additionally, on non-school days or holidays, that employee may work up to 8 hours. And in a week, six days or 40 hours are the maximum hours worked by that employee.


Josh Evan

Written by:

Josh Evan

Josh Evan is the professional career counselor and career development writer at When Work Works. He loves to see people from this field succeed through initiating the right thing in the right way. He never tells; he shows the way. We appointed John not because of his impressive CV. It was his counseling charisma which stood out of everything. He can implant idea, confidence and productive thoughts into mind almost effortlessly. His pen and mouth both speak for the greater good.


Related Posts:

Minimum Wage in California

Employees may not legally sell their labor for less than the minimum wage, the lowest compensation a business can p...

Minimum Wage in Ohio

The Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration enforces and administers the minimum wage laws in Ohio. According to t...

Minimum Wage in Oregon

In the United States of America, Federal law mandates a minimum wage for workers per hour. Regardless of the compan...