4 minutes read

Minimum Wage by State 2023

Last Updated on:

02 January 2023
Minimum Wage by State

The minimum wage is the shield that saves employees from getting exploited and helps employees adjust their expenses with the increasing inflation rate. This amount increases every year so that employees can balance their increasing living costs. 

However, different states have different minimum wages, and all the employers in those states are required to pay this amount to workers in exchange for their work hours. 

So, if you want to have an overall knowledge of the minimum wage offered by different states, thoroughly read this article. You will get all the information in one place.

Minimum Wage by State in 2022 vs. 2023

The majority of the states in the United States increase their minimum wage rate every year. And this will be the case in 2023 too. So let’s see the minimum wage offered in 2022 and what it will be in 2023.

State

2022 Minimum Wage

2023 Minimum Wage

Alabama

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

Alaska

$10.34

$10.85

Arizona

$12.80

$13.85

Arkansas

$11.00

$11.00

California

$15.00 for businesses with 26+ employees

$15.50

Colorado

$12.56

$13.65

Connecticut

$14.00

$14.00

Delaware

$10.50

$11.75

Florida

$11.00

$11.00

Georgia

$5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage)

$5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage)

Hawaii

$12.00

TBD

Idaho

$7.25

$7.25

Illinois

$12.00

$13.00

Indiana

$7.25

$7.25

Iowa

$7.25

$7.25

Kansas

$7.25

$7.25

Kentucky

$7.25

$7.25

Louisiana

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

Maine

$12.75

$13.80

Maryland

$12.50

$13.25

Massachusetts

$14.25

$15.00

Michigan

$9.87

TBD

Minnesota

$10.33

$10.59

Mississippi

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

Missouri

$11.15

$12.00

Montana

$9.20

$9.95

Nebraska

$9.00

$10.50

Nevada

$9.50*

$11.25

New Hampshire

$7.25

$7.25

New Jersey

$13.00

$14.13 (Businesses with fewer than 6 employees and seasonal employees pay $12.70)

New Mexico

$11.50

$12.00

New York

$13.20

$14.20

North Carolina

$7.25 

$7.25

North Dakota

$7.25

$7.25

Ohio

$9.30

$10.10

Oklahoma

$7.25

$7.25

Oregon

$13.50

TBD

Pennsylvania

$7.25

$7.25

Rhode Island

$12.25

$13.00

South Carolina

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

South Dakota

$9.95

$10.80

Tennessee

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)

Texas

$7.25

$7.25 

Utah

$7.25

$7.25

Vermont

$12.55

$13.18

Virginia

$11.00

$12.00

Washington

$14.49

$15.74

West Virginia

$8.75

$8.75

Wisconsin

$7.25

$7.25

Wyoming

$5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage)

$5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage)

Which States are Increasing the Minimum Wage in 2023? 

As of now, In 2023, 23 states will be raising their minimum wage. The states are as follows:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

In most of these states, the minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2023. 

Which State has the Lowest and Highest Minimum Wage?

Georgia and Wyoming have the lowest minimum wages, both at $5.15. However, businesses in Georgia and Wyoming that are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act are still required to pay employees the $7.25 federal minimum wage. 

When it comes to the minimum wage rate for businesses with 26 or more employees, California has the highest, at $ 15. Otherwise, in California, employers with less than 26 employees pay $14 as the minimum wage. However, in terms of states that have similar minimum wages for all the companies, Washington has the highest minimum wage, which is $15.49. 

In 2023, among all the states, four states will offer the highest minimum wage for all employees: 

  • Washington ( $15.74)
  • California ($15.5)
  • Connecticut ($14)
  • Massachusetts ($15) 

Comparison of Federal Minimum Wage Rates with All States

As of October 1, 2022, 31 states have a higher minimum wage than the federal government, 14 have the same minimum wage as the federal government, 2 have a lower minimum wage than the federal government, and 5 have no minimum wage rate. The states are listed in the table below.

States with Higher Min. Wage than Federal

States with Same Min. Wage as Federal

States with Lower Min. Wage Rates (Federal Applies)

States with No Min Wage Rates (Federal Applies)

Washington

Idaho

Wyoming

Alabama

Oregon

Utah

Georgia

Louisiana

California

North Dakota

 

South Carolina

Nevada

Kansas

 

Mississippi

Arizona

Texas

 

Tennessee

New Mexico

Oklahoma

 

 

Colorado

Iowa

 

 

Montana

Wisconsin

 

 

Alaska

Indiana

 

 

Hawaii

Kentucky

 

 

Nebraska

North Carolina

 

 

South Dakota

Pennsylvania

 

 

Minnesota

New Hampshire

 

 

Illinois

CNMI

 

 

Missouri

 

 

 

Arkansas

 

 

 

Michigan

 

 

 

Ohio

 

 

 

West Virginia

 

 

 

Virginia

 

 

 

Florida

 

 

 

Puerto Rico

 

 

 

New York

 

 

 

Maryland

 

 

 

Delaware

 

 

 

New Jersey

 

 

 

Massachusetts

 

 

 

Vermont

 

 

 

Connecticut

 

 

 

Rhode Island

 

 

 

Maine

 

 

 

Minimum Wage History by State

See the below table to comprehend how different stages have increased their rates of minimum wage over the year. All of this information has been collected from the Department of Labor.

State

2016

2017

2018

2019

2020

2021

2022

2023

Alabama

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Alaska

9.75

9.8

9.84

9.89

10.19

10.34

10.34

$10.85

Arizona

8.05

10

10.5

11

12

12.15

12.8

$13.85

Arkansas

8

8.5

8.5

9.25

10

11

11

$11.00

California

10

10.5

11

12

13

14

15

$15.50

Colorado

8.31

9.3

10.2

11.1

12

12.32

12.56

$13.65

Connecticut

9.6

10.1

10.1

10.1

12

13

14

$14.00

Delaware

8.25

8.25

8.25

8.75

9.25

9.25

10.5

$11.75

District of Columbia

11.5

12.5

13.25

14

15

15.2

16.1

TBD

Florida

8.05

8.1

8.25

8.46

8.56

8.65

10

$11.00

Georgia

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Hawaii

8.5

9.25

10.1

10.1

10.1

10.1

12

TBD

Idaho

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Illinois

8.25

8.25

8.25

8.25

10

11

12

$13.00

Indiana

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Iowa

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Kansas

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Kentucky

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Louisiana

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Maine

7.5

9

10

11

12

12.15

12.75

$13.80

Maryland

8.75

9.25

10.1

10.1

11

11.75

12.5

$13.25

Massachusetts

10

11

11

12

12.75

13.5

14.25

$15.00

Michigan

8.5

8.9

9.25

9.45

9.65

9.65

9.87

TBD

Minnesota

9.5

9.5

9.65

9.86

10

10.08

10.33

$10.59

Mississippi

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Missouri

7.65

7.7

7.85

8.6

9.45

10.3

11.15

$12.00

Montana

8.05

8.15

8.3

8.5

8.65

8.75

9.2

$9.95

Nebraska

9

9

9

9

9

9

9

$10.50

Nevada

8.25

8.25

8.25

8.25

9

9.75

10.5

TBD

New Hampshire

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

New Jersey

8.38

8.44

8.6

10

11

12

13

$14.13

New Mexico

7.5

7.5

7.5

7.5

9

10.5

11.5

$12.00

New York

9

9.7

10.4

11.1

11.8

12.5

13.2

$14.20

North Carolina

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

North Dakota

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Ohio

8.1

8.15

8.3

8.55

8.7

8.8

9.3

$10.10

Oklahoma

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Oregon

9.75

10.75

10.75

11.25

12

12.75

13.5

TBD

Pennsylvania

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Puerto Rico

6.55

6.55

6.55

6.55

6.55

6.55

8.5

TBD

Rhode Island

9

9.6

10.1

10.5

11.5

11.5

12.25

$13.00

South Carolina

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

South Dakota

8.5

8.65

8.65

9.1

9.3

9.45

9.95

$10.80

Tennessee

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Texas

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Utah

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Vermont

9.6

10

10.5

10.78

10.96

11.75

12.55

$13.18

Virginia

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

9.5

11

$12.00

Washington

9.47

11

11.5

12

13.5

13.69

14.49

$15.74

West Virginia

8.75

8.75

8.75

8.75

8.75

8.75

8.75

$8.75

Wisconsin

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25

Wyoming

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

7.25

$7.25




Josh Evan

Written by:

Josh Evan

Josh Evan is the professional career counselor and career development writer at When Work Works. He loves to see people from this field succeed through initiating the right thing in the right way. He never tells; he shows the way. We appointed John not because of his impressive CV. It was his counseling charisma which stood out of everything. He can implant idea, confidence and productive thoughts into mind almost effortlessly. His pen and mouth both speak for the greater good.


Related Posts:

Minimum Wage in California

Employees may not legally sell their labor for less than the minimum wage, the lowest compensation a business can p...

Minimum Wage in Ohio

The Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration enforces and administers the minimum wage laws in Ohio. According to t...

Minimum Wage in Oregon

In the United States of America, Federal law mandates a minimum wage for workers per hour. Regardless of the compan...