Holidays in Sri Lanka in 2023

  • Jump to:
  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec
Date Weekday Event Type
01 Jan Sunday New Year's Day Non Public
06 Jan Friday Duruthu Poya Public
14 Jan Saturday Pongal Public
25 Jan Wednesday Opposite Day Other
04 Feb Saturday National Day Public
05 Feb Sunday Navam Poya Public
08 Feb Wednesday Propose Day Other
18 Feb Saturday Maha Shivratri Public
21 Feb Tuesday International Mother Language Day Other
21 Feb Tuesday Mardi Gras Other
03 Mar Friday World Wildlife Day Other
06 Mar Monday Madin Poya Public
08 Mar Wednesday International Women’s Day Other
08 Mar Wednesday Holi Other
15 Mar Wednesday Ides of March Other
20 Mar Monday March Equinox Non Public
21 Mar Tuesday World Down Syndrome Day Other
22 Mar Wednesday World Water Day Other
25 Mar Saturday Earth Hour Other
02 Apr Sunday Palm Sunday Other
05 Apr Wednesday Bak Poya Public
06 Apr Thursday Maundy Thursday Other
07 Apr Friday Good Friday Public
07 Apr Friday World Health Day Other
09 Apr Sunday Easter Non Public
13 Apr Thursday Tamil New Year's Eve Public
13 Apr Thursday Sinhalese New Year's Eve Public
14 Apr Friday Sinhalese New Year's Day Public
14 Apr Friday Tamil New Year's Day Public
22 Apr Saturday Festival of Breaking the Fast Public
01 May Monday Labor Day Public
05 May Friday Vesak Poya Public
06 May Saturday Vesak Poya Holiday Public
12 May Friday International Nurses Day Other
14 May Sunday Mother's Day Non Public
18 May Thursday Ascension Day Other
31 May Wednesday World No Tobacco Day Other
03 Jun Saturday Poson Poya Public
03 Jun Saturday World Bicycle Day Other
05 Jun Monday World Environment Day Other
18 Jun Sunday Father's Day Non Public
21 Jun Wednesday June Solstice Non Public
29 Jun Thursday Feast of the Sacrifice Public
03 Jul Monday Esala Poya Public
30 Jul Sunday Friendship Day Other
01 Aug Tuesday Nikini Poya Public
26 Aug Saturday National Dog Day Other
16 Sep Saturday Oktoberfest Other
16 Sep Saturday Batman Day Other
21 Sep Thursday International Day of Peace Other
23 Sep Saturday First Day of Fall Other
23 Sep Saturday September Equinox Non Public
23 Sep Saturday Fall Equinox Other
27 Sep Wednesday World Tourism Day Other
28 Sep Thursday Birth of the Prophet Public
29 Sep Friday Binara Poya Public
29 Sep Friday World Heart Day Other
28 Oct Saturday Vap Poya Public
29 Oct Sunday National Cat Day Other
12 Nov Sunday Festival of Lights Public
26 Nov Sunday Ill Poya Public
28 Nov Tuesday Giving Tuesday Other
01 Dec Friday World AIDS Day Other
15 Dec Friday International Tea Day Other
17 Dec Sunday Saturnalia Other
22 Dec Friday December Solstice Non Public
24 Dec Sunday Christmas Eve Non Public
25 Dec Monday Christmas Day Public
26 Dec Tuesday Unduvap Poya Public
31 Dec Sunday New Year's Eve Non Public